More Comments From The Officer Meeting

October 9, 2007 at 7:27 pm (1)

Val and Glen chimed in with comments, which I’ll repost here just in case you missed them.

VAL:
Just to put my two cents worth in here..I am sticking with the “nautical” theme for ranks. It’s funny, different and easy to determine who the officers and gm’s are. I mean… if you can’t go to the Captain, Admiral or Commodore for assistance then there must have been a mutiny and there’s nothing you can do about it.

I’m also looking forward to some “silly” events. My time online is so limited these days and I feel like I’m losing touch with people with whom I used to be close (well..as close as you can in WoW). I’m not loot obsessed, I’d rather hang out, enjoy the game and the people I hang with. Having some sort of guild event would also be great way to get to know some of the new faces before you are tossed smack into the middle of Heroic SL with them.

And last but not least..on “sponsoring” new guildies. In general I think it is a good idea. It will be nice to know just who invited who to the guild and be able to talk to the inviting officer and find out just WHY they invited. A lot of time new guildies are brought in and it seems like no one can remember just who invited or why they were invited in the first place and it usually ends up with a /gkick. On the other hand the inviting officer can’t always be on at the exact same time as the new recruit so working as a “sponsor” could end up being rather difficult and lead to a “Do YOU know what YOUR new recruit did?” blame game”. I think just tagging the new recruits note with who shot the invite to them is well enough so you’d have someone to report them to. (Maybe that’s the general idea of it anyway..dunno) I don’t think any of our officers would intentionally invite someone to the guild if they knew they were going to turn out to be a bad egg.

GLEN: To respond to Val, I think the concept of the sponsor is so that the officers and GM’s know who to talk to if a concern develops. In many cases, the sponsor will have valuable information that could prevent assumptions from taking on lives of their own. Also, the sponsor may have an existing relationship allowing the sponsor to address concerns more constructively. A whisper from someone who knows the new member that his behavior may be a bit over-the-top will more often be interpreted as a friendly reminder than a scolding, and tends to generate better result in the long term.

As a note to the guild at large, let me add that the recent emphasis on more formal rules and procedures isn’t the precurser to a TWW police state. We are working hard to renovate the guild to improve our objective of providing an environment where casual, friendly, mature gamers can enjoy the company of others seeking the same thing. Nobody here gets a charge out of kicking someone. We hate having to occasionally take serious action to preserve the atmosphere that we hope will continue to attract the type of helpful, friendy and mature players that we all want to spend our time with. Real life offers enough drama without having to manufacture it in a virtual world.

I’d also like to say welcome to our many newcomers. I’ve had the pleasure of running a few instances with some of you and it has been a great time. To those I have not really “met” yet, I look forward to doing so soon. I’m excited that we seem to be attracting the same type of friendly, helpful players that all of us in the guild leadership strive to be.

Finally, a few requests. If you have concerns with anything, or suggestions on how we can continue to improve, please let an officer or GM know. Also, if you plan on running an instance, consider mentioning it in guild chat to see if anyone else may be interested. Running instances together is a great chance to get to know each other. Last, look for opportunities to help others. Happy questing!

Leave a Reply

